[INTERVIEW] An exclusive interview with Mr. Kamil Jan, candidate for Gilgit-Baltistan Elections 2009, with GBpost

September 12, 2009

kamil1

Mr. Kamil Jan, a self made person, who started his career from scratches and reached to a commendable position in his area of trade, has a conscious mind and sympathetic heart to feel and support those who are suffering and in need of help. Over a period of time he utilized his gains of success among many people and in particular among the people of Gilgit-Baltistan as a philanthropist. His contributions ranges from helping the current IDPs of Swat to the victims of devastating earthquake in Kashmir along funding many large and small community welfare projects across Gilgit-Baltistan in general and particularly in Hunza.

Having established his own career Mr.Kamil Jan is now looking forward to contribute in a more dedicated manner for the welfare, socio-economic and political progress of the people of Hunza. He opted to fill a very wide gap of conscious and committed political leadership, who are ready to serve in the political sphere for the people in real terms in Gilgit-Baltistan and Hunza, so he has decided to contest the upcoming elections for Legislative Assembly of Gilgit-Baltistan (LAGB) from Hunza.

The Gilgit-Baltistan Post, (GBpost) has got the opportunity to interview this great son of the soil of Gilgit-Baltistan:

GBpost: What is your top most priority as a politician of Gilgit-Baltistan?

Kamil Jan:  My top most priority is to create unity among all sections of the society, I mean, we are divided on the basis of many artificially created divisions such as religion (sects), cast, geographic area and language, this diversity is in fact strengths of our regions not a matters of division and conflict. For centuries we lived together like brothers and sisters, suddenly in two to three decades what has happened to us that we are fighting with each other on petty issues. My top most priority is to contribute to create harmony, love and brotherhood among all people of our area without any regard of political affiliation, ethnic or what so ever.

GBpost: Have you decided regarding any particular political party that you would represent for elections?

Kamil Jan: No. I would not be representing any political party for elections rather I would contest in elections as an independent candidate.

GBpost: Would it not support your election campaign if you be affiliated with a political party for elections?

Kamil Jan: Well, I would not contest elections to muster any political support for myself, I am participating with the objective of social work, I feel that if I will be elected I would have opportunities to serve the people of my area and in the case of election yes people of Hunza. I do not want to be dictated by parties, yes, when I will win the election, I would look at the situation and would decide considering the benefits of the people of Hunza to be affiliated with a political party which would be in best positions and will have capabilities to serve the people of Hunza.

GBpsot: To what extend it is appropriate to join a party on the basis of opportunities?

Kamil Jan: Yes. It is, because my only aim is to serve the people of Hunza in particular and Gilgit-Baltistan in general. I want to provide the people of Hunza a strong bargaining power. Inshallah, I will win the elections, and that would not be my personal victory, it will be the victory for the people of Hunza, at every step I would represent the interest of the people of Hunza.

GBpost: How would you assess and know exactly what the people of Hunza want and demand?

Kamil Jan: I am a humble son of the soil of Hunza, I belong to the common people of Hunza and live with them all the time. My own personal experience, observation and reading tell me a lot what the people of Hunza needs and wants. However, I am a firm believer on consultation and team work. I want to start a new chapter in the history of Hunza, by formation of a ‘Grand Consultative Council for Hunza’ (GCCH), which would be responsible to chalk out policy and strategy with further consultations with ‘Village Based Consultative Councils’ (VBCCs), in a systematic manner, on the basis of it I will perform my duties. I think, this would put me in positions very effectively to know exactly what the people of Hunza want and demand from me, and I will be answerable to this grand council and people of Hunza in general for my duties and actions as their representative.

GBpost: What are your major areas of concern, to start work immediately after winning the elections?

Kamil Jan: I will focus on alleviation of poverty, Education in terms of finance all those who could not bear the fees, I want every child of Hunza to go to school, Improving the government hospitals and health centres to provide quality health services for each and every one and supporting NGOs in this regard, I will focus on women’s development through creating more and more employment opportunities, developing infrastructures such as roads, water channels, and electricity. An another area I want to work is to eliminate disputes among villages on petty issues of land or other matter as it is wastage of many of our precious time, money and human capital.

GBpost: One final question, what are your views regarding the demand for an additional seat for Hunza.

Kamil Jan: My views are very much clear regarding this important matter, the people of Hunza have the right of additional seat proportionately on the basis of population of other regions, where a seat has been allocated to an area with 10, 000 population, so why not for Hunza, which has a population over 60,000 individuals. An additional seat for Hunza is important because it is linked with the allocation of development funds of Gilgit-Baltistan among different constituencies, if we are not getting an additional seat it means Hunza is deprived of more than 70 million rupees, which would be a huge lose for the people of Hunza. It does not mean I am against allocation of more seats to other areas of Gilgit-Baltistan, rather it is my pleasure if my brothers in Nagar too will get more funds as well, because we could be developed together not alone, my emphasis is on allocation of funds equally and with justice all over Gilgit-Baltistan, either I will be elected or not I will fight for the rights of Gilgit-Baltistan not only for Hunza.

GBpost: We request you to answer one additional question?

Kamil Jan: please go ahead. (Smiling!!!)

GBpost: If government in Islamabad denies an additional seat for Hunza, as it has been announced by Kaira, what would be your strategy for election?

Kamil Jan: It is very obvious that we people of Hunza would not participate in the elections, and would boycott it until the seat is not allocated and notification is not issued.

GBpost: Thank you so much for sparing time for GBpost, from your very busy schedule as we know you are highly engaged nowadays with meeting and conferences regarding upcoming elections. We wish you best of luck for your success.

Kamil Jan: (With a smile); My pleasure and thank you too for your noble endure for creating awareness among the people of Gilgit-Baltistan. source

Leave a Reply

